Kibaki’s Plee for peace

violence-speech.jpg

President Kibaki has spoken out against the violence rocking the country but insisted that those not satisfied with the election result should seek redress in the courts.

The President said the elections were free and fair, adding that his Government will deal firmly with any perpetrators of violence.

Speaking off-the-cuff, in Swahili, after reading his statement in English, President Kibaki said the elections were democratic, free and fair after which he was called and informed he had won.

He expressed willingness to dialogue with “concerned parties once the nation is calm and the political temperatures are lowered enough for constructive and productive engagement”.

Here is the full text of the President’s statement, excluding the remarks made in Swahili:

Fellow Kenyans, I am deeply disturbed by the senseless violence instigated by some leaders in pursuit of their personal political agendas.  This is causing unnecessary loss of lives, destruction of property and displacement of innocent wananchi from their homes, especially women and children.

As your President, I want to assure all of you that the Government is doing everything possible to ensure the security of all Kenyans.  Those who continue to violate the law will face its full force.  I urge the public to remain calm as the Government continues with its efforts to restore law and order.

In the last few days, I have continuously appealed for peace and restraint.  I wish to thank those who have heeded my call, and especially those who have taken the initiative to bring about peace and reconciliation in our country.

I want to remind leaders that you have an obligation to respect and uphold the constitution of this country, and its laws.  You have an obligation to uphold and protect the right of every Kenyan to live, work, and own property anywhere in our country.  It is your duty to ensure that these rights are protected and upheld throughout this nation.

As we seek avenues of bringing back peace and calm to this country, I am appealing to you to demonstrate your respect for this country and its institutions by restraining yourselves, and your supporters from engaging in unlawful activities.

In particular, I am appealing to all young people to reject any attempts to use them to harm their fellow Kenyans.  This is your country too, and to harm your fellow citizens and wilfully destroy property is to destroy your own future.

I have said before that I will personally lead this nation in healing and reconciliation.  I have opened my office to all Kenyans of goodwill whose desire is to have a united, peaceful, and stable Kenya.

I am ready to have dialogue with concerned parties once the nation is calm and the political temperatures are lowered enough for constructive and productive engagement.

I am directing the Police Commissioner to increase the number of police hotlines for the wananchi to report any suspicious activities that may lead to acts of lawlessness.  I am also directing our security services to be vigilant and deal firmly with all perpetrators of criminal activities. 

The Government is providing food and other humanitarian requirements to all those displaced by the violence.  The military has been entrusted with the execution of this important responsibility.  I convey my deepest condolences and sympathies to the relatives of all the innocent persons who have lost their lives.

I will soon be visiting the affected areas to join fellow Kenyans in the healing and reconciliation process.  Once again, fellow Kenyans, I want to reiterate my commitment and duty to protect the lives and property of all Kenyans, and to ensure that this country is governed by the rule of law that applies to all of us, irrespective of our status. 

My fellow Kenyans, let us work together as brothers and sisters to seek lasting peace and unity for our country.

Thank You and God Bless Kenya.

Leave a comment