President creates new districts


President Mwai Kibaki’s intensified campaigns in the last one month have increased the number of districts to 145. The Head of State has nearly tripled the 57 districts he found in 2003 as he responds to public demand for closer administration.

In two weeks the President has been in Western and Eastern provinces, where eight districts have been born.

The newest districts are Chuka, Mara, Shinyalu, Kilome, Navakholo, Bura, Lafey and Siakago.

President Kibaki had also carved Laisamis, Chalbi, Garbatula, Tigania, Igembe, Imenti North, Imenti South, Mutomo, Kyuso, Mwala, Yatta, Kangundo, Mbooni, Kibwezi and Nzaui districts in Eastern Province.

Western Province earlier got Hamisi, Emuhaya, Mumias, Bungoma North, Bungoma East, Bungoma West, Samia, Bunyala and Teso South districts.

In Nairobi Province, the new districts are Nairobi West, Nairobi East and Nairobi North.Coast Province bagged Kilindini, Msambweni, Kinango, Kaloleni, Tana Delta and Taveta districts.

In North Eastern Province, Fafi, Wajir North, Wajir South, Wajir West, Mandera West, and Mandera Central are the new districts.

Central province got Nyandarua North, Nyeri North, Murang’a South, Kiambu West and Gatundu.

Rift Valley received Turkana Central, North Pokot, Samburu East , Samburu North, Trans Nzoia East, East Pokot, Uasin Gishu South, Wareng, Laikipia West, Laikipia North, Molo, Naivasha, Nakuru North, Narok South, Loitoktok, Kipkelion and Sotik districts.

Nyanza had its share in Rarieda, Kisumu East, Rongo, South Kisii, Borabu and Masaba districts.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: